The Nutmeg Book Awards

The Nutmeg Book Award encourages children in grades 2-12

to read quality literature and to choose their favorite

from a list of ten nominated titles.


There are four divisions:

Elementary (grades 2-3)

Intermediate (grades 4-6)

Middle School (grades 7-8); an

High School (grades 9-12)

Here is a lot more information about the awards

April is Voting Month!

The 2022 nominees have been available all year and now it’s time to vote! Ballots are available at the library and must be turned in by April 30.

You can also email your votes to
While there is one winner each year at each reading level, all the nominees are examples of quality literature for the children in your life. They are chosen by school media specialists, public librarians, reading teachers, and student representatives. 
Click the levels above to find lists of previous year’s nominees.